Weekly Menu: September 13-20th

Weekly Menus from Our Cozy Den ~ Feeding a family of 6 on under $250 a month!

Here is my menu for the week! I’m excited that my in-laws are coming to visit — they are some of the most wonderful people I’ve ever met, and I am blessed to call them family! We are also eating out at restaurants a few times this week, which is more often than usual.

Again, a few notes before we get started:

  • Breakfast is not included in the menu, because in our house it is fend-for-yourself. But it is included in my budget and shopping. The choices are oatmeal, eggs, or my homemade cereal.
  • I recently did a post about my large once-a-month pantry shop. I try to plan most of my menu to use what we already have on hand in the pantry and freezer. Bulk buying = BIG savings!
  • Snacks are also not on the menu, but my kids do get a snack each afternoon around 4 pm. Their choices are veggies (usually carrots and celery), fruit (I always have on hand a selection of oranges, bananas, apples, pineapple, berries, etc.), hard-boiled eggs, cheddar cheese sticks, yogurt, and granola bars.

Here’s what we are eating this week:

Sunday:

Lunch ~ Leftovers

Dinner ~ Date night! Byron and I are going out to dinner, while a friend babysits the kids for free (score!). I’m watching her kids on Saturday — we do this once a month so we get free babysitting for dates!

Monday:

Lunch ~vegetable soup, with crackers and yogurt

Dinner ~ chicken tacos – with fresh spinach and and homegrown tomatoes!

Tuesday:

Lunch ~ sandwiches (peanut butter with jelly or honey, or turkey and cheese) with fresh fruits and veggies

Dinner ~ pork roast, potatoes, & vegetables

Wednesday:

Lunch ~ black bean quesadillas with fruit

Dinner ~ homemade spicy chili (I use V8 as a base for mine, so it’s another veggie-packed meal)

Thursday:

Lunch ~ the grandparents come to visit, and we’re taking them out to lunch!

Dinner ~ pepperoni and spinach strata

{My husband will be gone for the weekend, Friday-Sunday, so I cook less when he’s not here.}

Friday:

Lunch ~ sandwiches (peanut butter with jelly or honey, or turkey and cheese) with fresh fruits and veggies

Dinner ~ leftovers

Saturday:

Lunch ~ black bean quesadillas with fruit

Dinner ~ homemade mac and cheese (it has carrots in it, Sneaky Chef-style!) with hard boiled eggs and fruit

 

What I spent this week:

Like I said before – most of my groceries come from my big pantry shops at GFS. Here is my receipt from Walmart this week:

Weekly Menus from Our Cozy Den ~  Feeding a family of 6 on under $250 a month!

What I bought: 2 gallons of milk, 1 dozen eggs, yogurt, bananas, apples, french bread, spinach, almond milk, strawberries.

My total was $25.87, and WIC covered $15.82 of that, so I spent $10.05 out of pocket.

____________________________________________________________

Stay tuned for the rest of our weekly menus! And have a great week!!!

 

One thought on “Weekly Menu: September 13-20th

Leave a Reply

