Weekly Menu: September 6th-12th

Weekly Menus from Our Cozy Den ~ Feeding a family of 6 on under $250 a month!

Fall is here, and I am SO excited about it! We have a busy-busy-busy schedule, so having my weekly menus all laid out ahead of time really save me a ton of mental energy!

Again, a few notes before we get started:

  • Breakfast is not included in the menu, because in our house it is fend-for-yourself. But it is included in my budget and shopping. The choices are oatmeal, eggs, or my homemade cereal.
  • I recently did a post about my large once-a-month pantry shop. I try to plan most of my menu to use what we already have on hand in the pantry and freezer. Bulk buying = BIG savings!
  • Snacks are also not on the menu, but my kids do get a snack each afternoon around 4 pm. Their choices are veggies (usually carrots and celery), fruit (I always have on hand a selection of oranges, bananas, apples, pineapple, berries, etc.), hard-boiled eggs, cheddar cheese sticks, yogurt, and granola bars.

Here’s what we are eating this week:

Sunday:

Lots of celebrations today!

Lunch ~ Labor Day church picnic!

Dinner ~ Labor Day BBQ at a friend’s house!

Monday:

Lunch ~ black bean quesadillas with fruit

Dinner ~ 1-dish chicken, green beans, & potatoes

Tuesday:

Lunch ~ sandwiches (peanut butter with jelly or honey, or turkey and cheese) with fresh fruits and veggies

Dinner ~ quesadilla casserole — lots of veggies in this dish!

Wednesday:

Lunch ~ vegetable soup, with crackers and yogurt

Dinner ~ Family Dinner Night at church!

Thursday:

Lunch ~ black bean quesadillas with fruit

Dinner ~ leftovers

Friday:

Lunch ~ sandwiches (peanut butter with jelly or honey, or turkey and cheese) with fresh fruits and veggies

Dinner ~ homemade pizza (and cauliflower pizza for me!)

Saturday:

Lunch ~ vegetable soup, with crackers and yogurt

Dinner ~ chicken broccoli alfredo (I had this on the menu last week, but plans went awry and we never ended up making it.)

What I spent this week:

Like I said before – most of my groceries come from my big pantry shops at GFS. Here is my receipt from Walmart this week:

Weekly Menus from Our Cozy Den ~ Feeding a family of 6 on under $250 a month!

What I bought this week: 4 gallons of milk, 2 dozen eggs, bread, grapes, bananas, tortillas, brown sugar, 2 bags of tortilla chips, and 4 packages of discounted yogurt.

Weekly Menus from Our Cozy Den ~ Feeding a family of 6 on under $250 a month!

I found TONS of yogurt in the discount freezer at Walmart this week!

Total spent: $37.56! Nothing from WIC this week, but I am beginning to harvest some things from my garden! FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER!!!! My hard work is paying off!

____________________________________________________________

Stay tuned for the rest of our weekly menus! And have a great week!!!

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Menu: September 6th-12th

    • I get it from GFS – I buy in bulk every 4-5 months or so. When I get it on sale, combined with coupons, I spend about $30 for 4-5 months’ worth of chicken! It’s almost half what I would spend buying them one pack at a time.

  1. Looking at your Walmart receipt, do you use the price match savings catcher app? ALDI milk price was $1.69 and bananas were $0.29/lb. Another $5 saved without going to a second store.

Leave a Reply

