Weekly Menu: August 9th – 14th

Weekly Menus from Our Cozy Den ~ Feeding a family of 6 on under $250 a month!

My husband is finally home from his training so you would think we’d be done with the leftoverpalooza, right? Nope! We head out on vacation next week, so this week we are finishing up stuff from the fridge before we leave!

Again, a few notes before we get started:

  • Breakfast is not included in the menu, because in our house it is fend-for-yourself. The choices are oatmeal, eggs, or my homemade cereal.
    I recently did a post about my large once-a-month pantry shop. I try to plan most of my menu to use what we already have on hand in the pantry and freezer. Bulk buying = BIG savings!
  • Snacks are also not on the menu, but my kids do get a snack each afternoon around 4 pm. Their choices are veggies (usually carrots and celery), fruit (I always have on hand a selection of oranges, bananas, apples, pineapple, berries, etc.), hard-boiled eggs, cheddar cheese sticks, yogurt, and granola bars.

 

Here’s what we are eating this week:

Sunday:

Lunch ~ sandwiches (peanut butter with jelly or honey, or turkey and cheese) with fruit

Dinner ~ leftovers (no cooking on Sundays for me!)

Monday:

Lunch ~ vegetable soup

Dinner ~ crockpot pot roast with roasted potatoes and vegetables

Tuesday:

Lunch ~ black bean quesadillas with fruit

Dinner ~ eating at a friend’s house

Wednesday:

Lunch ~ {homeschool Home Ec} “Sunshine Toast”

Dinner ~ {homeschool Home Ec} “Perfect Pasta” with “Raspberry Fools” (it’s a vegetable-pasta dish, with a creamy raspberry side)

Thursday:

Lunch ~ leftovers

Dinner ~ pot roast tacos (using Monday’s leftover meat)

Friday:

Lunch ~ leftovers

Dinner ~ leftovers

Saturday:

Vacation!

 

What I spent this week:

Like I said before – most of my groceries come from my big pantry shops at GFS. Here is my receipt from Walmart this week:

Weekly Menus from Our Cozy Den ~ Feeding a family of 6 on under $250 a month!

2 gallons of milk, grapes, bananas, mayo, raspberries, bread, diced tomatoes, sour cream, heavy cream, frozen raspberries, and almond milk.

Total spent this week: $25.89. I’m looking forward to our homeschool Home Ec cooking unit to be over, so I can stop spending money on some of these random ingredients! But I let the kids choose their dishes, and it’s educational, so I’ll spend a few extra dollars a week for it.

Stay tuned for the rest of our weekly menus! And have a great week!!!

One thought on “Weekly Menu: August 9th – 14th

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu: August 30th – September 5th | Our Cozy Den

Leave a Reply

