Weekly Menu: August 2nd – 8th

Weekly Menus from Our Cozy Den ~ Feeding a family of 6 on under $250 a month!

Another beautiful week of summer is upon us! My husband is still out of town doing Army training, so we have another low-key week with extra leftovers.

Again, a few notes before we get started:

  1. Breakfast is not included in the menu, because in our house it is fend-for-yourself. The choices are oatmeal, eggs, or my homemade cereal.
  2. I recently did a post about my large once-a-month pantry shop. I try to plan most of my menu to use what we already have on hand in the pantry and freezer. Bulk buying = BIG savings!
  3. Snacks are also not on the menu, but my kids do get a snack each afternoon around 4 pm. Their choices are veggies (usually carrots and celery), fruit (I always have on hand a selection of oranges, bananas, apples, pineapple, berries, etc.), hard-boiled eggs, cheddar cheese sticks, yogurt, and granola bars.

Here’s what we are eating this week:

Sunday:

Lunch ~ sandwiches (peanut butter with jelly or honey, or turkey and cheese) with fruit

Dinner ~ leftovers (no cooking on Sundays for me!)

Monday:

Lunch ~ vegetable soup

Dinner ~ lasagna with garlic bread and green beans — the lasagna is made with zucchini instead of pasta, so it’s another super veggie-packed dinner

Tuesday:

Lunch ~ sandwiches (peanut butter with jelly or honey, or turkey and cheese) with fruit

Dinner ~ sausage, potatoes, & veggies — fried in olive oil and sprinkled with Italian seasoning

Wednesday:

Lunch ~ vegetable soup

Dinner ~ leftovers

Thursday:

Lunch ~ black bean quesadillas with carrots & celery on the side

Dinner ~ pancakes with fruit and sausage

Friday:

Lunch ~ vegetable soup

Dinner ~ homemade pizza

Saturday:

Lunch ~ leftovers

Dinner ~ attending my cousin’s wedding ♥

 

What I spent this week:

Like I said before – most of my groceries come from my big pantry shops at GFS. Here is my receipt from Walmart this week:

Weekly Menus from Our Cozy Den ~ Feeding a family of 6 on under $250 a month!

2 gallons of milk, 1 bag of apples, bananas, ricotta cheese, raspberries, blueberries, a loaf of bread, a bag of potatoes, 2 bags of tortilla chips, celery, carrots, and grapes — mostly fresh fruits and veggies!

Total spent this week: $28.57!

A friend of mine gave me some zucchini from her garden, so I didn’t need to buy any of that, but we’ll be eating it several times with various meals.

I’m going to continue posting all of my receipts and menus every week, so you can all see what we buy and how we eat! Click here to see all of our past menus!

Have a great week everyone!

One thought on “Weekly Menu: August 2nd – 8th

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu: August 30th – September 5th | Our Cozy Den

Leave a Reply

