My Dirty Little Secret

My Dirty Little Secret ~ Our Cozy Den

Ever since I started blogging, I was getting comments from readers. Most of them sounded something like this:

How do you do it all? 

How do you keep up with everything? 

I don’t have enough hours in the day to do all that. 

Well guess what? Neither do I.

I can’t do it all, and I don’t do it all most of the time. I just do my best to do as much as I can. 

And I have photographic evidence to prove it.

Let me introduce you to what we call “The Back Room”. It’s a common topic of conversation around here.

Husband: Where do you want me to put this? Me: The back room.

Kids: Where does this go? Me: Put it in the back room.

Husband: Do you know where my _____ is? Me: I think it’s in the back room.

And this is what it looks like after about a month of neglect:

"The Back Room" ~ Our Cozy Den

I think there’s a floor under there somewhere…

This room encompasses many things for us. We don’t have a garage, so it holds many of our outdoor things and tools. It serves as our pantry. It’s our laundry room and laundry sorting area. It houses our seasonal organizer, 5 recycling bins, and tons of miscellaneous storage as well. It’s also the entrance to the basement, so it tends to be a catch-all for things that need to go down there.

But my whole point here is that I’m not perfect! My house isn’t organized all the time. It’s messy. I have 4 kids, life is messy. So when you look at blogs like mine, packed full of money saving tips and organizational tips and stuff about homeschooling and field trips and traveling and life — keep in mind that nobody does everything all the time. We are all just striving to be a little bit better each day, baby steps toward a slightly cleaner house and a slightly easier routine.

Yes, I have my kids do most of the housework. But sometimes I forget to tell them to do chores. Yes, we try to eat healthy. But sometimes we order pizza. Yes, we homeschool. But sometimes I cancel school so I can read books.

And that’s okay.

By the way, I did eventually clean The Back Room. This is what it looks like all spiffed up.

Not perfect, but good enough. And that's all I need.

Not perfect, but good enough. And that’s all I need.

Have a blessed day! ♥

 

Leave a Reply

