Mom’s Kitchen Helpers ~ with FREE printable helper chart!

Mom's Kitchen Helper ~ FREE printable chart! ~ From Our Cozy Den

love having my kids help me cook in the kitchen. I think it’s an important skill for them to learn, and it’s great bonding time too. But when you have multiple children — in my case, four — that’s just WAY too many cooks in the kitchen. So, I have them take turns. But then we start getting squabbles about whose turn it is: “Lia went last time!” “I haven’t had a turn in forever!”… and so on. So, I made a fun chart to keep track of whose turn it is to help me cook.

It’s really easy to use, and I made some FREE printables so you guys can download a copy for your own family to use!

Here’s how to get it set up:

  1. Print the chart (see below) with the appropriate number of bubbles for the number of kids in your family. If you have more than 5, just print two “3” charts or a “2” and a “4” or however you want to do it.
  2. Write your kids’ names in the bubbles.
  3. Laminate the chart if you want to. This makes it more durable, but is not necessary. (You could also put it into a page protector.)
  4. Tape/stick the chart to the refrigerator.
  5. Choose a magnet to move around the chart.

When it comes time to actually use the chart, I move the magnet when I begin cooking. So the magnet rests on the name of the child who had the previous turn. When the kids ask, “Is it my turn?”, I move the magnet to the next child in line, and announce who it is.

Download the charts here:

Two Kids

Three Kids

Four Kids

Five Kids

Easy! Hopefully this helps eliminate some complaining in your house, as it does mine! And it also frees up some of your mommy brain space (I need all the space I can get!) to remember other things instead of who gets to cook with you next!

Leave a Reply

