The Fix-It Box

The Fix-It Box ~ Our Cozy Den

How many times do your kids come up to you and say, “Mom my _________ is ripped/broken!” Before I had my amazing Fix-It box, I would say okay, and set the item on the counter, cluttering up my space, until I finally got around to fixing the item. But the Fix-It box has changed all that!

The Fix-It Box ~ Our Cozy Den

Let me introduce my Fix-It Box.

The Fix-It Box ~ Our Cozy Den

It sits on top of my fridge, and every time one of the kids brings me something that needs fixing, I say, “Okay, I’ll put it in the Fix-It Box.”

The Fix-It Box ~ Our Cozy Den

Inside, I have a smaller container that holds: clear tape, super glue, and a small sewing kit – the kind you can buy for $1 at the dollar store.

The Fix-It Box ~ Our Cozy Den

Once a month – okay, maybe once every two or three months – I get the box down for fixing time. I make 3 piles: sew, glue, and tape. Then I get to fixing while the husband and I watch TV. He often helps, if he isn’t working on a project of his own.

The Fix-It Box ~ Our Cozy Den

We easily knock out the whole box in 20 minutes or so, because all the supplies we need are right there, and we can go at it assembly-line style. When I’m done, I arrange all the goodies on the kitchen table to surprise the kids in the morning with their long-lost treasures. They love seeing them again!

Why I love it:

  • It’s so simple. You just throw it in the box, without having to worry about it.
  • It’s faster. You don’t have to get out the needle and thread 10 times, or go dig out the superglue AGAIN.
  • It makes the old new again. Having the kids wait for their items makes them exciting again, because they haven’t seen them in a while.
  • It teaches them respect. Making them wait also makes them a little more careful with their toys, because they know if it gets broken it will be gone for a while.

Good luck, and I hope this idea helps a little bit with some of the more annoying parts of parenting!

The Fix-It Box ~ Our Cozy Den

Like this post? Pin it on Pinterest or Share it on Facebook!

One thought on “The Fix-It Box

  1. Love this! Mine clutter up my sewing table and I don’t even want to look at it anymore, much less sit and sew. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

