My Awesome Homemade Pizza Recipe

homemade pizza

I’m almost afraid to share this, because it’s like a secret weapon stored away in my arsenal. For many years it’s been mine. All mine.

We are big pizza aficionados in this house. It’s my favorite food, by a landslide. Once, I even ate pizza for 27 meals straight — breakfast, lunch, and dinner — on a dare (I know it’s not healthy, I was in high school). I started with a simple recipe from a book that was basically flour and oil and water, but over the years I have perfected it into my very own homemade awesomeness. My family begs for this pizza. They are disappointed when I want to order out, because they like this kind better! I still order out sometimes, because I get lazy. haha.

So here’s the recipe!

Start with:

2 to 2.5 cups flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp yeast

1.5 tsp oregano

1.5 tsp rosemary

1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese

IMG_5069

Mix together in a bowl. I start with 2 cups of flour, and add more after the wet ingredients if it looks too sticky.

IMG_5070

Add 1 cup of water and  1/4 cup of oil. Stir, and add more flour if needed.

IMG_5071

Dump the mixture onto a floured pizza pan.

IMG_5073

IMG_5074

Flour your hands and start flattening and pressing the dough outward. Keep your hands floured, and keep pressing it all the way to the edges.

IMG_5075

Bake for 10-12 minutes at 375 degrees.

Add marinara sauce, cheese, and your favorite pizza toppings.

IMG_5080

Put a heavy coat of butter-flavored cooking spray along the edges of the crust. Then sprinkle with garlic powder. This turns the crusts into delectable garlic-breadsticks!

IMG_5081 IMG_5082

Return to the oven for 10-12 additional minutes, until the cheese is melted.

That’s it! Slice and serve!

I know this isn’t the healthiest recipe! Everything in moderation, right? It is much cheaper than delivery pizza too. I did the math once, and this pizza costs about $2 to make, give or take. I make 2 for my family, so dinner costs $4. Score!

homemade pizza

8 thoughts on “My Awesome Homemade Pizza Recipe

  1. This looks incredible!! I know what you mean about being addicted to pizza… Hell, I love pretty much all Italian food!

    My pizzas have come to be something I make using whole wheat flat breads with tons of mozzarella, feta, tomatoes, peppers and onions.

    Is it okay if I reblog this?

  2. I’ve never thought of using a buttery spray as the base of the crust like that! Clever! I usually use butter and garlic powder but spray would definitely be easier. 😀

  3. Pingback: Our Weekly Menu: July 12th-18th | Our Cozy Den

  4. Pingback: Our Weekly Menu: July 19th-25th | Our Cozy Den

  5. Pingback: Weekly Menu: August 2nd – 8th | Our Cozy Den

  6. Pingback: Weekly Menu: August 25th-29th | Our Cozy Den

  7. Pingback: Weekly Menu: September 6th-12th | Our Cozy Den

Leave a Reply

