Homemade Cream Soup Recipe

cream soup recipe

I do my best to make most of our food from scratch. Almost nothing comes from a box or a package. This is mostly for financial reasons, because you guys know I’m ALLLLL about saving money. But also, it’s because I want to know what goes into our bodies. I’m also very passionate about using healthy, natural products, and things that are not packed with chemicals and preservatives.

One of the products that I love making homemade is cream soup. Any recipe that calls for “cream of chicken” or “cream of mushroom” or anything similar, I use this recipe instead. I make the mix ahead of time, store it in a canister, then make up a can’s worth whenever I need it.

Here are the ingredients - only FOUR! Have you looked at a label of store-bought soup lately? There are well over a dozen, most of which I have no idea what they are or what they mean.

Here are the ingredients – only FOUR! Have you looked at a label of store-bought soup lately? There are well over a dozen, most of which I have no idea what they are or what they mean.

Here is the recipe ~ it is SO simple. I mix it right in my canister so there are no dirty dishes, no mess. I just pour in the ingredients, snap on the lid, and shake it up to mix.

2 cups of dry milk + 3/4 cup of cornstarch + 1/4 cup of chicken bouillon + 2 tablespoons of onion flakes

You can use healthier options of the ingredients I have pictured here. There are organic, non-GMO, etc alternatives. I don’t personally get those, because my focus is more on A) saving money and B) whole ingredients. It’s all about baby steps in the right direction, and that’s just where I am right now.

To actually prepare the soup when you need it, here are the directions:

For EACH “can” of soup you need to replace, combine 1/3 cup of the mix with 1 and 1/4 cups water in a LARGE bowl. Stir with a whisk.

IMG_4904

Microwave it for 3 minutes, stir with the whisk, 3 more minutes, stir again, and another 3 minutes for 9 minutes total. The soup bubbles up a lot, which is why you need a big bowl. Don’t even ask about the mess I made whilst learning this lesson…

9 minutes is usually just right for me, but you may need a little more or less time. Basically, you just want it to be thick and creamy when it is done. Most of my recipes call for adding the soup with other ingredients, so I tend to just throw them all in the big bowl and continue with my dinner prep.

That’s it! I hope this helps you make your dinners a little more cheap and healthy!

Leave a Reply

