We’re all in the Hunger Games

So, you might remember from my post last week that I’m doing this fast. It’s bringing me so much clarity on so many issues. This month I’m focusing on food, and I’m coming to a few realizations.

1. We need food every day. Just like we need water, air, and God. But just because we come back to it again and again, that doesn’t give us a license to overindulge.

2. For every bite we eat, there is a person out there wishing they had something to eat. I believe that God has made it our duty as Christians to feed the hungry. How many times does the Bible say it?

This is just a small sample. Source: openbible.info

This is just a small sample. Source: openbible.info

I’ve heard the same phrase uttered lately by 4 or 5 different people. After a few times of hearing it, I thought “Maybe God is trying to tell me something here.”

People are saying: I only work out so that I can eat more. 

Or: I exercise to work off those calories! 

Is that what God intended for us when He gave us food? To eat SO much that we then had to do extra work just to break even?

I can’t help but be reminded of a scene in the popular book series, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

Source: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Source: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

So maybe throwing up so you can eat more isn’t really that different from exercising. Or is it? Is it really all that different?

The intentions are the same. People, especially Americans, are eating more than their share. They are eating more and more and MORE, while other people are starving. Some don’t bother to work it off, and it has led to the obesity epidemic in our country. Others do work it off, but that doesn’t change what we are doing.

So my challenge to myself, and to anyone reading this, is to consider how much you eat. Think about whether you really need that food or not. Imagine how many hungry people you could feed with the excess calories you shouldn’t consume anyway. We’ll all be healthier, and making the world a better place in the end.

Leave a Reply

