Art of the Month Club

Kids' Art-of-the-month Club ~ Our Cozy Den

I don’t make all of our Christmas gifts. There are some years I don’t make any. When I do make them, it tends to happen in mass production, because it’s easier and cheaper that way, as many craft supplies are sold in multipacks.

Here is one of my favorites:

Art of the Month Club

I made a wooden plaque for each of the 4 grandparents. I got this at Hobby Lobby in a week where the wood stuff was 50% off. I painted them and put a nice piece of scrapbook paper in it, then added chipbook letters and some 3D embellishments.

It said our family’s last name after L’il, but I blurred that out.

It was accompanied by a certificate that said

Merry Christmas! Your gift this year is one that you will continue to receive all year long~  This certificate entitles [Grandparent’s name] to a one year subscription in the [last name] Family Art-of-the-Month Club. Each month, for the entire year of 20xx, you will receive an Original piece of artwork for you to display on your custom-made Art-of-the-month Club frame. Included with your gift is a bonus piece of art to display in December 20xx. These Originals are made by such well-known artists as [child’s name] and [other child’s name].

It has definitely been one of my better ideas. The grandparents love getting art from the kids every month. And the kids are doing tons of crafts anyway, so I feel like these can be shared and I don’t have to throw them away. The plaques themselves cost about $12 total (to make 4), so my only cost has been postage throughout the year.

One thought on “Art of the Month Club

  1. Definitely using this idea for Christmas since my little guy will be just be old enough to start making some crafts at that point. Thank you for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

