Homemade Laundry Detergent

I make my own laundry detergent. It is quick, easy, and SO cheap!

Before, with coupons, I would pay $3-$4 for a bottle of detergent that lasts for 30 loads. Best case scenario, that’s $.10 per load. Making my own detergent, I pay less than 1 cent per load. It did take an initial investment, as the ingredients were pretty expensive. However, these boxes will make countless gallons of detergent.

Here’s how it breaks down:

Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda, 55 oz

purchased on amazon.com for $10, $.18/oz

20 Mule Team Borax, 152 oz

purchased on eBay for $20.70 including shipping, $.14/oz

Bar soap, any kind

Purchased on sale with a coupon for $.69, $.23 per bar

So I spent a total of $31.39 acquiring the materials. Each batch takes 1/2 cup (4 oz) of the Washing Soda [$.72], 1 cup (8oz) of the Borax [$1.12], and 1 bar of soap [$.23], for a total of $2.07. This makes 3.5 GALLONS, or 224 LOADS!! That is less than a penny per load!

Here’s the recipe:

In a small pan on the stove, heat 4 cups of water on high. Use a knife, potato peeler, or grater to shave a bar of soap into small slivers (this helps it dissolve more quickly). Put it into the pan. Stir until all the soap bits are dissolved. Stir in 1/2 cup of washing soda and 1 cup of borax. Remove from heat and pour into a large (4-5 gallon) container. Add 3 gallons of warm tap water. Stir until mixed well.

That’s it, you’re done!

You will have to shake it / stir it occasionally, more or less depending on what kind of bar soap you used. I have to shake my jug once a month or so.

Some people keep their homemade detergent in a large lidded bucket and fill up regular laundry detergent bottles as needed. My dad got me a neat jug with a spout that I keep mine in. It sits on the shelf above my washer, and I just keep a small cup nearby to measure it.

See, it’s not so difficult!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. Pingback: 5 Steps to Becoming a Money-Saver | Our Cozy Den

  2. Pingback: Homemade Dishwasher Tablets | Our Cozy Den

Leave a Reply

