Listening

I think that one of the ways God talks to us is by showing us the same thing over and over. It can happen through the written word (both the Bible and elsewhere), a song, a sign we pass on the road, or even a simple statement from a friend. This has happened to me many times, and I am always in awe of the amazing ways He chooses to reach us.

I wanted to share a few things that I think God has been telling me recently:

1. Pray Specifically

In the past, especially when I was a new Christian, I didn’t feel I deserved to pray for things specifically. I would never boldly ask God for things. I would meekly ask for something, then quickly follow it up with “if-it’s-in-Your-will-Lord”. Recently, I’ve been hearing Him tell me to be bolder in my prayers. Prayer is a powerful thing. Just read here for a few examples of it.

2. Happiness is Right Now

Another thing I keep seeing recently is “Happiness is Right Now”. I can’t keep looking to the next milestone to fulfill me. The Hesitant Housewife sums it up beautifully here: http://thehesitanthousewife.com/ill-be-happy-when-_________/

So, along these lines, I’ve been praying for contentment. I don’t know how long God is going to keep us in Germany, but I desperately want to stop hating it here. So I will pray and pray and pray to be content where I am until God either makes me feel that happiness or moves me.

The verse I’m concentrating on today is this:  If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. (John 15:7)

Leave a Reply

