Resolutions of Prayer

My New Year’s Resolutions this year are all about prayer.

1. I resolve to give my worries to God. I need to stop obsessing about the details, because I have no clue of knowing what my future holds. I need to trust that He will take care of us, no matter what.

2. I resolve to pray for my husband and my children. I don’t just want to pray for their current struggles, which is something I frequently do. I want to pray for their character, their willpower to stand against darkness in this sinful world, and their futures. I want to pray for my children to have a relationship with Our Savior, and to find spouses someday that love Him too.

3. My third resolution has been the most fun so far. I don’t think I’ve ever made a goal that I have LOVED carrying out each day. Most of the time goals are hard. Before New Year’s, I opened up a Word document and made a numbered table of all of my facebook friends. Each day, I go to random.com, and type in 1-116 (my current number on the list) and it gives me a random person to pray for. I think this has been great for me for many reasons. First, it encourages me to break out of my normal prayer routines. Secondly, it makes me think about that person, and consider what kind of trials they may be going through. And thirdly, since it is random, I believe God will lead me to a person who might need my prayers that day.

Here’s to a great year of talking with God!

Leave a Reply

