Living Like No One Else

Life is changing. We are moving into Lockdown Mode with our budget, facing the very real possibility that we could be unemployed in 9-18 months. I just made up the budget for 2013, and I’m very excited about it. I have to be excited, because looking at the goal is going to be the only way to do it. This is going to be hard.

I showed Byron my budget, and he wasn’t so excited. I told him that our savings rate is extremely high, and he didn’t quite grasp how high until I showed him this chart:

Picture 3

See the US rate there at the end? It’s 2.1%.

In 2013, we’ll be saving 65%. If we didn’t tithe, it could be 75%, but of course giving money to God is more important than any of my financial goals. I pray that God gives us the strength to stick with it, and that He protects us from hardships that would throw us off-course.

Leave a Reply

