Saving water

I don’t do quite as many things here as I do to save electricity, but here are a few of my favorite tips:

  • install low-flow showerheads (I got these for free from Energy Right. They sent me a gift pack when I did an online home energy audit.)
  • put a half gallon (the whole jug) of water in your toilet tanks to use less water with each flush. I’ve also heard of people using a brick; it does the same thing.
  • when I wash dishes in the dishwasher, I use the water saver option.
  • when I wash dishes in the sink, I only put 1-2″ in the bottom of the sink. I rarely need more than that.
  • when you are running the water in the bathroom waiting for it to heat up, put a pitcher under the faucet to catch the “wasted” water. Then use that to water plants / fill the dog bowl / rinse off something dirty.
  • the obvious, don’t leave the water running while you brush your teeth.
  • don’t water your lawn. Even when we had a drought a few years back and all the yards were brown except the 4 or 5 families who watered it every day, it’s always seemed like such a waste to me.
  • set a timer outside your shower. It’s so easy to lose track of time in there.
  • bathe your kids together, or one right after another and use the same water. They’re usually not dirty enough to make it matter.
  • whenever you turn on the water, think about how much you need to get that job done. I used to rinse dishes with the water going full blast, but then one day it dawned on me that I only needed a trickle. Now I make a conscious effort to think about it every time I use the faucet.

I’m sure there are many more ways to save water. I’d love to hear your tips!

One thought on “Saving water

  1. Pingback: How We Live On $650 a month | Our Cozy Den

Leave a Reply

