Saving money on power

There are countless ways to save energy. I’m sure you’ve probably heard most of them, but just in case, I’m listing many here. All of these are things that I do in my own home (unless I state otherwise), so they are definitely achievable by the average family.

  • replace your old incandescent light bulbs with CFLs
  • set the temperature on your water heater to 120 degrees or lower
  • set your heater to as low as you can stand it in the winter and wear sweaters for extra warmth
  • set your AC to 78 degrees or higher in the summer (when my husband is gone, I don’t use AC, since I don’t really like it. I prefer open windows and fans. When he is home, we turn it on to 80)
  • unplug appliances when you’re not using them, especially those that have clocks or lights (those use continuous energy)
  • use as few lights as possible: the rule in my house is that only one light can be on per person at home. This keeps lights from being on in random rooms all over the house.
  • use cold water for your laundry and dry the clothes outside
  • only use the dishwasher when it’s full
  • close curtains and shades to block out the heat during summer months
  • change your air filters often to make your heating/AC unit more effective
  • put foam insulators in outlets on exterior walls (I also got these from a free Energy Right audit kit, but they are very inexpensive to buy)
  • in the winter, I leave my oven open after baking and it warms up the house (I put the safety gate up so my toddlers don’t get to it)
  • put surge protectors in areas where you have a lot of things plugged in, and turn them off when you’re not using those items (this is one area where I need to improve… I try to remember to shut it off, but I often forget)

What are your favorite energy saving tips? Leave a comment, I’d love to hear them!

One thought on “Saving money on power

  1. Pingback: How We Live On $650 a month | Our Cozy Den

Leave a Reply

